Side Chain architecture question

Hi.

If I want to route a SC from one place to another, I need to SEND from the source to the destination SC…This is OK but what if I need to sidechain lets say 10 destinations and its not possible to route the destinations to a group channel? I will need to make 10 sends from the source right?

I am new at CB and come from Logic, where it works the other way around. You select where to receive from from the SC destination, so 10 destinations can select for example “kick send” as source. This can be better sometimes, although CB:s opposite way has it´s virtues as well… But I wonder if someone has a smart workaround for the situation where many destinations need to receive from 1 source?

thanks a lot!

Claesbjo

I create SC “broadcasting” arrays of group channels, usually about four of them: SC (Part 1), SC (Part 2), and so on. Each feeds into the next to create a single long chain of side-chains. The 4 chained channels just null-terminate (they don’t connect to an audible output). This gets around Cubase’s horribly arbitrary and outdated 8 send limit.

The 4 new group channels (that act as one), each with its 8 slots for sends, combine to a total of 32 sending areas.

Now, just send your kick to the SC (Part 1) – it will flow through all 32 slots. You’ll have 32 slots to play with, to send out to the various group channels and stems with your Pads, Noise washes, Risers, etc. I mean, a little SC on just about everything, is not off the table. :mrgreen:

Ok thats a way to to it, thank you.

Not sure why CB is using the “send source to destination” instead of the “receive from source” sidechain paradigm…It must be loads more common to use one source and many destinations.

Glad to help.

Yeah, It has to do it that way to easily deal with its (unfortunate) 8 send limit. :mrgreen: