Simple MIDI Track Question

Complete Newbie here. Coming from Reaper & FL Studio. Please, can you tell me how to be able to hear the auditioning of notes that I’m inputting on a MIDI Track? The MIDI Track is receiving MIDI from a keyboard, and its output (for no particular reason) is routed to the instrument track below it. My goal is just to be able to hear what I’m doing - it helps prompt the creativity - I could have done this midi input/editing on an instrument track. But the reason I’m asking is to understand the MIDI routing in Cubase - there are many occasions where I need MIDI tracks to be able to feed individual instrument channels on a multi-timbral instrument. I heard about instrument racks, but I’ve heard there’s a way to do this without using them.

Also, how to audition all the notes of a chord at once?

Hi there,
I don’t think this is possible.
The only way is to route the MIDI Track to an Instrument.
If the MIDI data doesn’t go anywhere it just cannot output any audio, and there is no automatic auditioning of note inputs, at least not that I know.

Wait, I have read your post again, if the MIDI Track is already routed to the Instrument Track, then simply enable Monitor on the Instrument Track… sorry for the confusion.

The way I read it the Track is routed to the VSTi on the adjacent Instrument Track.

I’d be suspicious of a mismatch in the MIDI Channel Numbers. This is initially confusing in Cubase because there is a Channel Number setting on Instrument & MIDI Tracks. You might think this is the Channel the Track is listening to - but that’s wrong. The MIDI Tracks are always listening to all the Channel Numbers - although the Input Filter can restrict that.