Skipping During Recording Cubase 4 LE

Hey, my name is Adam and I have been recording with Cubase 4 LE for nearly 3 years now, (kind of embarrassing I know) but I have and I have had some problems here and there but have always been able to deal with them or work out the kinks. Recently however I have been having problems recording anything on one nice and continues track because for whatever reason Cubase keeps skipping on me during the recording. It is almost as if everything is getting shut down for a split second and then coming right back to recording, and when it does this I am losing entire seconds of recording time. When I listen to the play back, it is simply jumping over these “down times” and smashing the recording together. So it sounds like the music is just missing entire sections. I have always had some slight trouble with the play back playing smoothing, but hasnt really ever bothered me. This however is keeping me from recording anything, and I would really love some help.

Im using Toshiba Satellite A665, Cubase 4 LE, and a Tascam US-1641 for recording thanks again you guys.

Adam: I to use a Tascam US-1641 and
in my opinion you might try using Low or Lowest Latency
when Recording with your 1641, In Cubase Le4 go to Devices>Device setup>US-1641 >
and then control Panel. I do this a lot and then switch to highest latency
for mixdown. Try Backing up your songs to an external source
to free up memory in your computer. And also if these suggestions don’t help
you might try to "TRASH the Preference’s " in Cubase Le4. :wink:

Jack :smiley: :smiley:

Hey!