SL10 unmix, no bass extraction

I am new to SL. I have had the basic program as part of Cubase, but it was so limited, I ever used it. I often have the need to clean up audio and have always used Izotope RX for that. Now that the vocal unmix in SL 10 is competitive with the other products, I have done a crossgrade to SL10 pro.

The vocal and drum unmix seem very good, so I am happy with the product. But in doing some testing with some live recordings, I was surprised that the unmix of the bass produced almost nothing. The bass is not super high in the mix, but it is plenty audible. The piano and guitar unmix also got very little, but those are more buried in the mix (it was a jazz big band. I was just surprised that the bass extraction was weak – it is much better in Izotope.

I was also surprised to not see any controls/parameters to tweak the detection. Am I missing something? Is this really limited to basically one-button operation?

Is anybody else finding bass unmix weak?

1 Like

The datasets/libraries/dictionaries for these algorithms are pretty generic (meaning its basically a sum of all the basses of datasets and the the median is the average of those sums of basses) (meaning it’s like the concept of averaging off numbers, where you’re giving a set of data numbers and you add each set of those numbers and the output would be the average sum of those numbers). With that concept in mind, most of basses (and I cant speak for every dataset because every dataset and algorithm is different) in today’s music (so for example deep sub basses) are different then the basses in music from the 70’s, music from the 70’s more-or-so were actual bass from a bass instrument or bass guitar or string bass (not an actual sine wave). Music in 2024 is more likely to use a deep sub bass (from a sine wave) rather than an actual acoustic bass.