[SOLVED] Licensing - A really serious bug or design flaw ?

In a recent post The most serious bug a piece of software can exhibit - Dorico - Steinberg Forums I described what I experienced with Dorico

On June 14th 2017 I purchased a Dorico 1 license, a crossgrade from Sibelius, and I received a box and a USB-licenser. I never installed anything on any computer since Dorico 1 didn’t jave the features I need (Chord Symbol) as I’m a jazz musician.

On March 10th, 2019, I purchased a Dorico 2 upgrade and received an email containing an activation code

I immediately installed Dorico 2 and made sure to follow the procedure required so I wouldn’t have to use the USB licenser. I had to enter 2 activation codes, the one of Dorico 1 and then the one of Dorico 2 if I remember well. But I did’nt have to install Dorico 1.

I then started to use Dorico for the 1st time, Dorico2 I mean, without ever using the USB licenser, my laptop was always online

A few weeks ago, Windows 10 got upgraded from 1803 to 1903. Then I tried to work offline and eLicenser complained I didn’t have a license

Daniel kindly sent me a trial activation code so I could continue my work. I installed it and everything worked perfectly offline and later online when back home. It still works and will until November 2019. The is a side problem: when working offline the VST engine crashes when Dorico is started, but I’m not prevented to notate music. just to play it back

In his private message containing the trial code, Daniel told me to use the MySteingber reactivation process to obtain a new activation code. I did so, but then experienced problem, basically getting a message that there is no valid license on my eLicenser.

So I contacted Steinberg support about this, and the reply I got is that there is no way I can get a code for the eLicenser and that I must use the USB licenser.