[Solved] Problem recording midi with Oxygen 8 on Windows 10

Hi All,

I have a problem recording midi. I am a newbie to Cubase and just getting to know the program a bit more, so hopefully an easy fix. I have been able to set things up and made it work, but this problem is kind of wondrous. I have of course done my part trying to find a fix. Here are some steps for creating my problem

• New project
    Add Instrument Track (Halion or Groove Agent)
    Choose whatever sound/kit
    Set locators between 2nd and 4th bar

Situation 1: (unexpected behavior)
Set cursor to zero and just hit record and play on oxygen 8 keyboard. I can hear sound, a track is created, but it has no content/recording.

Situation 2: (expected behavior)
Set cursor to zero and just hit record and play on the virtual keyboard in that transport. I can hear sound, a track is created, and it has content/recording.

Situation 3: (expected behavior)
Set cursor to zero and activate “cycle” in the transport just hit record and play on oxygen 8 keyboard. I can hear sound, a track is created, and between the locators content/recording shows.

Why does the midi in situation 1 not get recorded into the track when it does in situation 3?

What can I do/try to make situation 1 work?

System puts out sound with the midi keyboard (Oxygen 8).
I put in markers between bar 2 and 4 and now set to recording. A track is generated, but nothing gets inserted.
I rewcord again, but now use the virtual keyboard in the Transport. Now it does record.

Now the odd thing. When I turn the transport cycle on, I do get the midi recording and it works as expected. But I don’t want to cycle, but just do a simple direct recording.
Is there a setting that I am not aware of?

Remember, I am new to cubase.

Hi and welcome,

Isn’t Punch-In and Punch-Out enabled in your project? Can you send a screenshot, please?

Thank you Martin,