Speakers suddenly unmapped in Cubase 7.5

Never encountered this problem before. Whenever I try to open a project or start a new one it notifies me that the speakers are not mapped and therefore cannot play any sound. I’ve been using Cubase for a few years now and have not had this happen in all this time.

It’s been a couple weeks since I opened Cubase but really I cannot think of anything that would cause this. It’s not like I’m constantly changing my audio driver or anything.

I’m using the generic low latency driver by the way and it’s been fine but apparently not anymore? I tried out ASIOv4ALL and it worked but I also mutes my web browser and other programs that use sound.

Why can’t something that was working just keep working?

My guess is that something was recently changed. Maybe a computer update, driver updates, you added programs, deleted something… those sort of things.

So… please list your computer, software and hardware specs and think about what recently was changed and report back. Something even like you are now plugging your audio interface into a different USB port might cause this.

Regards :sunglasses:

Thanks for the reply. Is this the information you’re looking for?

OS Name Microsoft Windows 8.1
Version 6.3.9600 Build 9600
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer TOSHIBA
System Model Satellite P75-A
System Type x64-based PC
System SKU PSPLNU
Processor Intel(R) Core™ i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz, 2401 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Insyde Corp. 1.60, 12/4/2014
SMBIOS Version 2.7
Embedded Controller Version 1.30
BIOS Mode UEFI
BaseBoard Manufacturer Type2 - Board Vendor Name1
BaseBoard Model Not Available
BaseBoard Name Base Board
Platform Role Mobile

I really cannot think of anything that has changed, not even USB port usage. If I do I will definitely let you know.

What I was hoping you listed was your sound card (or audio interface) information.