Split keyboard and play separate vst instrument

Hello i have an 88 key master
I want to be able to play with, let’s say, the first half of the nmaster a vst instrument on track 1, and with the 2nd half of the master another vst on track 2
Changing the midi channel on the track doesn’t make sense, right?
I have found to use the Input TRansformer…but no success
I tried the Global or the local(which one should be used?) and then i select channel filtering 10
Wether i set to SAME or DIFFERENT, the master play at all on that track
How to set it up?
Thanks

edit
I am trying other kind of filtering and it seems the transformer doesn’t work on any, i have followe a video, and i did the same the video explain…but for me the notes are always received
I made it simply
I set the keyboard with no splt transmitting on channel 1
then i create a filter for all the channel not equal to 1
It plays all the time…

also, i don’t know if it normal, if i use midi monitor, whter midi channel i assign to the keyboard, it will always show channel 1
If i use another tool, i correctly see the midi channel i have set on my keyboard

1 Like

Just set the split in your keyboard to for example send the lower range on MIDI channel 1 and the upper range on MIDI channel 2.

Then add a local input transformer to both VST tracks as follows (with the parameter, that is channel, replaced accordingly):

Note that you have to enable the Module and set the Function to Filter.

1 Like

aahh ok…i did not see the little switch to enable the module!
What about the midi monitor always showing midi channel 1?

You should set the MIDI channel sent by lower / upper range in your master keyboard’s internal settings.

I guess technically you could also set an input transformer that would change the midi channel of notes at least C4 or wherever you want the upper range to be split to be changed to MIDI channel 2.

ok you mean i coul dsplit the input in the transformer rather than in the keyboard?