Splitting Systems into 2 Columns for Instructional Book

I’m a newbie to Dorico, but had been working with Sibelius for 15 years, and Musescore for the past 3 years. I actually bought Dorico 2 almost two years ago, but I’m finally committing to learning it and, honestly, I am experiencing a pretty steep learning curve. I’m sure once I get more attuned to it and find my groove, it will be a powerful tool for me.

I am attempting to write a drum instructional book and what I want to do is write two separate columns of one bar examples, with the bar numbers going down the vertical columns, rather than horizontally. If anyone is familiar with the legendary drum book, “Stick Control” by George Lawrence Stone, this is roughly the layout I’m hoping to use.

Honestly, the bar numbers are not a big deal, as I can manually add them if I need to, but the 2 column layout is the thrust of my question.

I’ve tried to create two music frames, one for each column, but every time I enter notes/measures in the first frame, they’re mirrored in the second frame. Again, I’m almost totally clueless about Dorico, so please excuse what might amount to a simple oversight, but I haven’t found anything on this topic. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Best,
Chris

Make sure your two music frames are linked sequencally, meaning the left one should be for example “MA/LA 1”, while the second one should be “MA/LA 2”

See attached Screenshot. Although I would probably recommend you to unlike me create a master page instead of using layout frames.

You could do it using two players and creating a new layout including a master page with two music frames where you would filter the music by players