Stability and Prefs Corruption -- a Suggestion

Hit once again by the, always slightly frightening and disturbing, “Cubase crashes on project load,” thing.

It happens a lot.

It always (thankfully) seems to get fixed by trashing the prefs folder (on Windows). And it never seems to be the actual project file itself (which is kinda good I guess).

We’re then left with the task of trying to remember all the VST paths to repopulate and dozens of little config and prefs settings (there are actually quite a lot to have to remember and manually recreate when this happens).

So, dear developers, since you can’t seem to fix this outright (I’m a developer and know how that is), perhaps a “second line of defense” is in order – one to compliment, not replace, a true fix.

Here’s a proposal on one possible approach to help make this more bearable:

“Last known good configuration.”

That’s it. Simple.

Similar to Windows registry, make a snapshot of all those troublesome xml files and such. That way, when this happens, we don’t lose anything.

I think it needs to be more than simply backing up that Cubase 6_64 folder, because I do that and restoring it does not fix the crashes, but trashing it completely does.

Cheers.

Edit/Update: Welp, this is a first. Trashing prefs did not solve it this time. I have a project that will not load. Very troubling. I’m sure it’s a plugin’s fault. Steinberg, you guys created the VST format, is there no way to “sandbox” a ill-behaving VST in such a way that it doesn’t crash Cubase itself? Probably not. Sigh. This sucks. I was sooo close to mixing this project down, too. :cry:

You know, all this truly fatal crashing (won’t even load) + problem ownership uncertainty due to the nature of having third-party plugins + no direct phone support = a feeling of complete helplessness. It all adds up to a pretty horrible system when you think about it.

It almost makes a producer want to switch to Reason and just get on with the business of making music.