Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

I’ve never used this function before but thought I should give it a shot after watching Justin’s great video recently. However, for some reason I don’t get the tracks on two alternating tracks, but instead I get a separate track for each file. Am I missing something or is this a bug?

There are 3 options.

All on one track, staggered on two tracks, or all on their own track and all clips placed at 0:00 (or wherever the cursor is). Are you sure you chose the 2nd option?

I’ve done this about a million times in the last 10 years and have never had it not do what was intended.

Absolutely sure, exactly the same options and I tried it several times. They come out staggered but on different tracks. They’re sort of paired, so one will go on the track below the one before, but all on separate tracks. I’ll try it out tomorrow and make a screenshot.

When you say ‘sort of paired’ … these are stereo tracks correct? Not dual mono?

Hi!

with Staggering Files box used
Try tick box or combo(s) with
“Start Inserting below Selected Track”
or
“Use Existing Tracks (Create New Tracks If Necessary)”

it works here on WL 10.0.40 and OSX 10.14.6 Mojave

regards S-EH

Ok, back with some screenshots. Here are the settings (although I’ve tried a bunch of things):

Here’s the result:

Also tried with other files. Same thing, but not one track per file but a mixed salad:

One more:

Be sure to place the Mouse-Pointer in the upper trace, before you import the clips into the audiomontage (you should see the vertical yellow line in the upper trace only).
Otherwise additional traces are added.
Hope that helps

Just tried that, same result.