Stop Play Anchor Moving to Stop Position

It there a way to make the play anchor stay put and not jump to the stop position when using the space bar to stop and start.
I know you can use the “play from anchor” in the extended transport bar or use 0 on the numeric keypad to jump back to the previous start point but I’m new to Wavelab and use Pro Tool as my primary DAW and I have got very used to selecting the play point with the mouse and then it always starting from there when I pres again.

Right click on the Stop button (Transport bar) to access this option.

This is a setting that I’ve always felt should be default. I don’t know of many people who like to work how the default setting is. It seems that most prefer the playback cursor to return to the last position.

I think most long-time WL users prefer the current default behaviour, since it’s what they’re used to - I know I prefer it the way it is.

But the thing is, then it will stay that way after updates etc. One of the top questions I see I the WL User Group on FB, and in my mastering class is how to make the cursor be “normal” after playback. And this setting is also hidden in the Stop button rather than the perhaps more logical Play button.

It was more of a suggestion for new users because as mentioned, old users typically have their settings carry over after updates.

I think the option depends upon what you are used to and the other software you may habitually use. I too prefer the current default setting.

The default behaviour is the same in Nuendo and Cubase. So I think Wavelab is following a Steinberg standard operation procedure. Those coming from Pro Tools or elsewhere may not be used to this and hence the confusion / or alternative preference.