Strange copy/paste in same staff behaviour

Hello, something strange’s happening when I paste notes: I copy, say, a single staff piano bar (or portion of bar) and want to paste it in the following one, but Dorico pastes it on the first upper staff (see video gif). What am I doing wrong? I’ve been using Dorico for more than two years now and this never happened.
Registrazione schermo 2022-03-09 alle 18.55.43

Could you post the project? I wonder if it’s posssible that some of these notes have been crossed onto a different staff, so that they are drawing on a different instrument than the one they belong to.

Forever UPDATE - We Will Rock You (slow).dorico (3.1 MB)
Here’s the project. I just wrote those notes as usual, then I’m quite sure they were intended specifically on that staff (which is a Keyboard RH staff, btw). Going on in the project, I found that it pastes on the first staff only if all staves are empty (in this case, if I pasted on bar 68, for example, the operation would go smoothly as usual). Also, this particular empty bar (67) was black in this colour-by-voice visualisation, while others keep the normal voice colour even if empty: when I pasted on those fully black bars Dorico pastes in the first staff, when they have normal colours, pasting is fine. Any idea?

Aah, that may be because it’s actually a (1-bar) multi-bar rest I think, and multi-bar rests don’t belong to a specific staff. You might want to switch off the option for multi-bar rests in your score layout.

Actually on further investigation that might not be the problem here, but it does look like your project was last saved in v4.0.0, which suggests you aren’t using the most recent release. I would suggest upgrading to v4.0.20 first and then seeing if the problem still occurs.