Strange input problem with drums

Hi there!

I’ve got a strange problem with adding drums via MIDI. Every time I enter a kick drum (low C) it automatically adds a crash cymbal. When I enter a hihat foot it displays two of them, also when I enter a crash cymbal. Also HH open is double and rids adds a crash.

What is going on here??
I’m not an expert in Dorico (yet) so any help is appreciated!

All the best,

Jasper.

Playing a single note on your MIDI keyboard inputs notes onto two separate drums? That’s quite unexpected. Can you start a new project, add a drum set, input a couple of notes, then save that project, zip it up and attach it here, and also attach the zip file produced by doing Help > Create Diagnostic Reports? I’m hopeful that by looking at the logs produced in the diag report and the project itself I might be able to see what’s going on.

Hi Daniel,

Tnx for helping. Here’s the file. I believe I also created the diagnostics report. I’t automatically sent to you right? I don’t get a message or something…
Test drums.dorico.zip (515 KB)

IIRC the diagnostic report shows up as a zip file on your desktop.
You would need to send it in.

Here it is!
Dorico Diagnostics.zip (633 KB)

Without knowing your setup there may be a MIDI input issue causing the problem you are experiencing which can happen if you (the computer I mean) has access to multiple MIDI inputs. This can happen for example if you have a USB keyboard which is also connected via MIDI cables. When a note is pressed the MIDI information is transmitted down both cables which may (or may not) have a bearing on your problem.

I would lean toward it being an input issue as you are the first person, I have heard of that is experiencing this problem.

PS. Do you have any special keyboard settings that may affect what is being transmitted - splitpoints, transpositions etc?

Also - does it mess up ‘normal’ instruments? Trumpets, Piano etc?

I would suggest testing your system by using just the bare minimum.