Strange ranges for certain instruments

Hello,

Just using some instruments I’ve never used in Dorico before and found a few of them aren’t working as expected - the contrabassoon and tubular bells (so far) seem to have the wrong ranges? I am writing notes for them that are definitely in their range (the lowest notes of the contra, and A above middle C for the tubular bells) but they are not sounding. I can get them to sound if I put the contra up an octave, and the bells down an octave.

I haven’t looked into how to correct this yet - will try and work out how - but just thought it was worth mentioning.

best!
Cheryl

The audible range of an instrument has first to do with the used VSTi.
The default use of Halion Sonic Orchestra in Dorico is only a “suggestion”.
Though a quite good allround VSTi HSO is not the deepest one and does not indeed cover the whole possible range of each instrument.

Edit:
In fact HSO does not seem to have a contrabassoon!
You can find a contra bassoon in Garritan Personal Orchestra 5.

edit 2
The tubular bell of HSO has a limited range but the GM(015) tubular bells is playable over the whole midi range!

It would be useful (for beginners and when writing for instruments with which one - beginner or not - is unfamiliar) if Dorico could one day indicate out of range in the same way that Sibelius does:

• change note colours (and even ledger lines?) to show out-of-range
  • fulfill the function of some of its plugins which indicate the playability of what one has written

I do agree, though, that there’s no substitute for really getting to know what all the instruments for which one writes are capable of and comfortable with.

Knowing the range of an instrument is not very helpful if HALion (or any VST) doesn’t provide the proper range of the instrument or transposes it unexpectedly by an octave (like the vocal tenor) without letting the user know.

(Yes, I know the Tenor transposition has been explained.)