Stream Deck macro keypad

I’ve been looking for a macro keypad, and I’ve found it. It’s an Elgato Stream Deck. (thanks to Dewdman for the recommendation!)

Here’s a really simple, 10-second video (Elgato Stream Deck - YouTube) so you can see the interface I set up.

As you can see, the option for folders is pretty snappy. I’m sure it’ll evolve as I acclimate to using it my workflow, but it’s so simple to change. You can even load and save profiles. I made the icons myself in paint.NET. It’s easy to set up the software. In fact, I set it up yesterday while I was waiting for this to arrive, and when I plugged it in this morning, it immediately populated all my icons. Click and drag, done.

And yes, all the hotkeys WORK GREAT. I programmed the fingerings in AHK so it opens the popover, enters the number, hits enter, and advances to the next note. The intervals work the same way (I’m still resisting chord mode!!! haha).

I’m no designer, but if anyone wants the icons I made, they’re here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/seqqd4vx57y4wx1/AAA2M3_cD9OC0Ww4VSvO2d1Ma?dl=0. This folder also contains the text files for the AHK macros and my list of macro shortcuts.

Thanks for sharing, that looks very interesting!

Doesn’t it slow down the engraving work if you have to take off your hands from the regular keyboard and switch to this device?

Not necessarily. It depends on the function. Fingering obviously becomes much faster because left hand stays on the macro keypad. Other functions are slightly more difficult as well, so it’s “worth my time” to move to the keypad. For example, I find myself using the tuplet macros. I just hit the 3:2 or 2:3 button, and voila!