Super low notes heard when using any articulations

I’m having an issue… When any articulations are used in my scores, I hear a suuuuuuper low note on top of the note that should sound (in addition to the actual note, so I hear two notes). Does anyone know how to fix this bug? It make using articulation not possible. Which makes Dorico, well, not usable for playback… It’s bad…

It’s a keyswitch. You need to make sure you have the correct expression map assigned for your virtual insturments.

1 Like

I’m brand new to Dorico, can you explain that like I’m 5?

can anyone point me in the right direction on how to fix these “expression maps”?

Well to more specific in my question, the articulation is working, a staccato does shorted the note length, but that additional tone that is so low it sounds like a fart. I can’t figure out what is causing it in the expression mapping. The default expression map for all my horns is HSO Trumpet solo, because there is no saxophone or trombone, so the horn articulations for HSO Trumpet solo were defaulted. So there shouldn’t be a low note heard like this. Still no solution…

Further to Dan’s reply, this is from the Dorico Help

Every instrument (e.g. Trumpet) gets assigned a sample from a library (e.g. “Marsalis Super Brass KS”). You also need an Expression map to ‘map’ notation elements, like ‘staccato’ to the MIDI commands that the sample needs (like CC12 set to 127).

Normally, when you create a Player, the Playback Template automatically handles this for you. For some reason, it sounds like you’ve got the wrong expression map for your sample. Did you change the sample manually?

Try re-applying the Playback Template, which will reset all the instruments.

1 Like

Being a very classical musician, this has also bitten me in the past.
It’s not specific to Dorico, but a feature of MIDI, of which I admit to know about nothing at all.