synchronizing korg x50 with cubase 6

Hi

First off I’m a total beginner when it comes to using external midi instruments so I could just be missing something in my approach to it.

I have bought a second hand korg x50 it’s installed correctly and connected via usb midi cable.audio outputs are connected to my audio interface…inside cubase I can create a midi channel select the korg to control it that works fine.I created an audio channel and once I enable the monitor button I can hear the korg as I play.
To test its synchronized up I selected a basic drums kit in the korg played in a basic beat and recorded it.(just the midi data)

When looking at the recorded midi date it’s spot on to my playing so no problem their.I quantized it just to make sure it’s perfectly in time…in order to play back the midi through the korg I set my audio cards buffer to a low setting arm record on the audio track and the monitor button hit record. when the loop is recorded into audio it sounds good quality wise but when I zoom in the audio timing is slightly late.

Anyone had this problem or am I making a newbie mistake?

Thought I better mention if I render a midi vst instrument to audio that is perfect it’s just the hardware synth?

1. What is your audio Interface?

2. I have the same problem when recording my Yamaha MO8 analog into my RME Fireface 800. What I do is adjust the record latency in Device setup> VST Audio System.

Zoom in all the way to see how far from the beat the recording starts. If your project ruler is showing bars and beats, change it to show samples instead. Now when you zoom in you can see how many samples the recording is off by. In device setup> VST Audio System “Adjust for Record Latency” should be checked. adjust “Record shift” either forward or back by the samples your off by. You may need to do this several times to get it just right.

Good luck!

I have a FF800 like you.