Synchronizing MIDI synth with Cubase

Hi,

I’m rather new to Cubase and music production. I have an rather for today standards old Yamaha CS2x which is the little brother of the more popular CS6x.

I plugged it in through my midi card onto cubase and use halion1 as a VST. The basic midi features work, keys, velocity, pitch and modulation wheel, arrpegiator. But most of the other in built features of the synth are unresponsive. The control knobs, other effects, key pitch shift,…

As i was tinkering about in cubase, i think it was in the add midi devices window (can’t remember right now), i saw a list of Yamaha synths and the CS2x was listed. I believe the synth and cubase are compatible, because Cubase is also mentioned in the synth’s manual, however an older edition of cubase. As far as i could tell the manual doesn’t really explain if at all how to sync to cubase…at least with my limited knowledge i couldn’t make anything out of it.

So i basically have two questions:

1. Is there a simple universal way to sync these two together so i can use all my other features on the synth?

2. How exactly do i record from the synth to cubase using the inbuilt samples of the synth rather than using a VST?
    As far as i could gather, you need to monitor the sound from the synth separately and record only midi data on cubase…but how do i actually listen to the recorded sound? Do i need to somehow export the samples to cubase so it could add them to the midi track?

Sorry for my noobish questions but i’m rather puzzled by all this. Thanks

Which version of Cubase?

Aloha A,

A lil MIDI lesson.

Try to see ‘MIDI’ as a stream of events and Cubase as a camera taking pictures of that stream.

When you play on your synth with built-in sounds, your physical keys are sending out
messages to the sound producing samples inside the synth.

This is called using "local On’.

This is all very normal but