Takamine recording level

Hi everybody,
I have an old classic Takamine CP132-SC and I’m afraid it’s got some problems regarding piezo mic or preamp because when I record it in Cubase input levels appear to be lower than they were: if I strum very strong I can get an input meter level about -6/7 dB and if I play with my fingers I can’t go over -13/12 dB. (Takamine volume is set to maximum level, battery is new, MOTU mic input fader set to max and bot input and channel fader set to 0; no input pregain).
Any suggestion about this?
Thank you,
arfo

Hi. What are you using for an audio interface? Sounds like you need to run your guitar output through a pre-amp. That way the signal is boosted before it reaches Cubase.

Hi SF_Green,
thank you for answering.
I have a MOTU 828mkII FW so in both the mic inputs I have a preamp, and I set it to maximum (completely clockwise);I’ve been using using this soundcard for at least fifteen years and the Takamine too and I had higher input levels with these settings so I’m asking if something isn’t wirking as it should…
arfo

Probably something going wrong with the piezo/electronic part. FWIW, I also have a Takamine with a piezo mic (even if not a classic one - it’s a TAN16C with a CTP-2 preamp) and have to be careful about how I set the output level of it : it can easily saturate any Hi-Z input and is often much stronger than any electric guitar I have at disposal, used with an amp (OK, they are mostly single coils pickups, beside an Epiphone with P-90 ones, but still…).

Seems like there are replacement parts available here and there for your guitar, including more recent Takamine preamps.