technical issues for beginners

I am a musician who recently bought Cubase 10 elements and a new laptop. I have historically recorded on a Tascam portastudio but decided to take the plunge and try a daw. Only problem is: im completely computer illiterate.ive managed to install the software, soft elicenser and a focusrite audio interface, and setup focusrite usb asio in the studio setup vst audio system menu. even achieving this felt like climbing a mountain. Now I am experiencing numerous technical problems. The first is an error message that says A SERIOUS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED. This message almost always appears whenever I click on groove agent se, HALion or Prologue in the vst instruments menu. Secondly, I have occasionally been able to access the groove agent menu and select, lets say, hard rock style with a drum kit display, but a window appears with the text missing sound archiveand a search option. When I click start search, the text in the bottom left of the window says something like 8000 missing files- 0 resolved files. as a result I cant get any sound from the kit. I would be extremely grateful for any help or guidance I might receive, but I must reiterate that I am not computer savvy so id like to pre-empt any overly technical reply by admitting that ill probably have difficulty understanding unless taken through the minutiae of the troubleshooting process step by step. My laptop is an acer aspire 5 a515-52 with 8gb ram and 512 gb ssd. I was told this would be more than sufficient to run Cubase elements.

Hi and welcome,

From the description I’m afraid the installation wasn’t successful.

I would recommend to uninstall Cubase and install it again. Please, make sure that:

• You download the Full Installer.
  • You unpack the ZIP file and install from the unpacked folder.
  • You right-click the setup file and install as administrator.

This should ensure you have all installed in a proper way.