Tempo after a rallentando stays slower

If I insert a rall. without inserting a L’istesso tempo (or similar) indication at the end the tempo stays slower in the following bars.
This is not how a musician would play and is cumbersome since I can’t even hide a tempo indication without workarounds.
May this be something to review?
Thanks

Welcome back to the forum! Yes, the “end speed” of a gradual tempo change applies until the next explicit tempo mark. You can input any immediate tempo and hide it, or draw in a point in the Time track in Play mode (which will be hidden in the score automatically).

I don’t think a musician would know to return to the original tempo following a rallentando or indeed an accelerando without an explicit instruction to do so, and Dorico is much the same.

4 Likes

I kindly disagree. I am a musician and of course I would return to the original tempo if the rallentando has a clear duration.
Anyway I will get used to this, it seems to me a bit counter-intuitive thought, even hiding the tempo marking as suggested by Lillie would have been easier having the option in write mode also.
I love Dorico but I find myself switching modes a little too much to accomplish easy visual tasks.
Anyway I thank you very much for the fast response,
have a nice day!
Marco

Well, I’m also a musician, and I’m pretty sure that in most situations I would stick my hand up to ask the person directing the ensemble what was intended after the end of the rall. But to each his or her own: in any case, Dorico needs explicit instruction (like I do :slight_smile: ).

1 Like

Seems fair :slightly_smiling_face: