Tempo Sync Problems Please Help

Hi , I’m new to Cubase 6 ( have Cubase SL ) but my head is spinning re. tempo problems .

I’m trying to mix backing tracks for myself so I am firstly importing an original mp3 of the song into cubase . I am slicing the start of the song so the drums come in at measure 1 . I am running Tempo detection ( which is working out well !! ) and giving me a BPM which wanders around 105 BPM . The metronome matches up with the bass drum nicely . Now when I check the pool the BPM here is 120.43 ???

Now I also have a audio drum track for this song which I am importing also . It is very close in tempo and shows 120.68 in the Pool when imported . I don’t seem to be able to sync the 2 tracks .

It seems that the BPM in the pool is the problem . When the original track is Tempo Detected at 105 BPM (although reading 120 in the pool ) and I turn on musical mode for the drum track alone it slows the drum track down ( it is around 106 BPM but showing 120 in the pool . So is it assuming it needs to be slowed from 120 to 105 when it is already very close to 105 . Can I manuualy edit the pool BPM so that it reads close to the actual BPM .

Please be easy on me as I realise I have waffled on a bit and I may not be getting my point across right :smiley:

You’re supposed to. Curious as to why you just didn’t try it.

Because trying to get my head around all that Cubase 6 can do has fried my thought processes :smiley: It is a lot to take in .

So , if I get this right , when I import the audio track I have to work out the tempo and then manually change it from 120 in the Pool ( Cubase SL had none of this BTW ) The Tempo can’t be exact as it is moving re. the Tempo detection
When I bring the second track in , I still can’t get them to line up ?