Things that have changed (for the worse?) in N5.5 :-(

Hey there,

I’m new to 5.5 and am sure I have to get used to the new GUI (I really loved the white waveforms in N4 :frowning: ) and other things, new placement of buttons etc.
There are a few things though that seem to have changed in the small details vs N4, and I would like to hear your opinions on these - maybe they are only bugging me, maybe not?

1. Cannot copy from locked tracks by alt+ctrl+dragging (see this post : Cannot copy from locked track - Nuendo - Steinberg Forums )
    This is (was?) my usual workflow going from my locked OMF tracks to my working tracks. No longer works (I’m pretty sure it used to, or I am just used to the ProTools way too much :-\ )

2. When “Track selection follows event selection” is enabled, the track focus sometimes jumps to the track with the selected event, even if I have manually selected another track. Mostly happens when touching automation parameters and Nuendo notices “hey, you’re not on the track the event is on!”. I’ve ended up automating wrong send levels or EQ due to this behavior. Didn’t this stick to the manually selected track in N4? Wouldn’t it be nice to have a “manual override” that holds the current selection until I select another even?

3. REVerence automation - the “recall” parameter is so different from how Roomworks used to work, there is another thread on this.

What do you guys think? OK for you? Not experiencing this behaviour? Do you have any workarounds?
    If you feel the same I think this should be passed on to development, as it does cause one to trip up during production now and again…

Cheers for any opinions!
Andrew

My work around: make a copy of all OMF tracks, stick it in a folder, lock it and disable it. Use the other copy to pull from and if you ever worry you messed something up, check the safety copy.

Hate this, I set up a hot key for “edit-select none”. sort of like a manual override