Threadripper performance increase from Cubase 11 to 12

Is there anyone who noticed increased performance on the Threadripper CPUs using Cubase 12? I’m currently running an i9-12900k workstation, but often hit the limits even though this should be the highest performing configuration at the moment (for Nuendo 11) with its high core clock and DDR5 memory. I have a Threadripper VSL server running (3975WX) and I’m considering swapping computers for the new Nuendo 12. Anyone who has some numbers of the performance increase on their Threadripper platforms for the new releases?

1 Like

I seriously doubt the processor is your issue.
Can you describe with some details a project that “hits the limit” and how this causes a problem (clicks? drop-outs?).
And some details on the rest of your PC configuration.
Also, open task manager to check what background processes might be wasting resources.

It’s genuinely the CPU which is the bottleneck. I’m an EDM producer, producing natively in 13.1 (Auro3D). Each project consists out of 100 up to 180 different tracks. Even though most of the time stereo or mono tracks are used (sent to 13.1 busses), the internal processing of each track’s output towards the buss is already 13.1. Which gives over 1400 virtual audio lanes inside each project.

Now consider adding processing to it and about 50 I/O channels of analog audio in an average project. I guess now it doesn’t sound that weird the CPU is maxing out (also in task manager, no non-production related software installed on the machine).

I already use a dedicated SoundGrid server for all the Waves plugins, VSL for all the Kontakt banks and AudioGridder if the workload of the projects get too high, so I can send the VST processing to a dedicated server.