Tips on setting levels in Cubase AI 6?

I’m fairly new to recording and I’m wondering what is a good method for setting up preliminary volume/gain levels? I realize that it’s going to vary a bit from person to person and from setup to setup, but are there some golden rules to follow? I want to ensure that nothing is clipped, but I also don’t want things to be too quiet when it gets mixed and mastered.

My UR824 interface has a gain knob for each input channel. I’m using Cubase 6, and the program has a virtual mixer in which it shows the levels for each input, as well as a master volume control. I’ve heard some people recommend that I set the input level in the program so that the sound peaks around -12 dbFS. I also watched a tutorial that recommended I set the input level between -3 and -6 dbFS. There’s a light that glows red on each input on the interface (I’m assuming that means the signal is clipping). If I make sure there’s no red light, and I have the level around -6 dbFS in the program, am I good to go?

RSager: Watch this youtube video a few times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4W2zwVvDkg
Note: This video is Cubase 4 but should help :wink:

Jack :smiley: :smiley:

ps: Check google for setting recording levels :wink:
RSager I tend to record Audio High Frequency things
Cymbles–Tambourines - etc. at a lower level and
most everything else at moderate levels.
Always use your Ears and Eyes and maybe test recordings.
In Cubase 7 theres a “BRICKWALL LIMITER” that I’ve been using
on my INPUT Channels. Works great.
A person could write a book on this subject :wink:

as you found out everyone likes levels different. the importsnt thing is to not clip the converters. And software limiters in input channels (which btw. you don’ t have anyway in AI 6) won’ t help prevnting that.