Trigger recording when I Play on my keyboard

Hi everybody

I’ve just changed my DAW fron pro tools to Cubase. I found almost all of the functions I liked but I miss one: trigger the recording by just playing on my keyboard. I used to select and arm recording track. The soft wait for the moment I Press on my keyboard to begin the recording.
Any help or advice form me ?
Thanks a lot.

I’ve been asking for this many years now, Steinberg has never responded. Its been there in MOTU Performer then Digital Performer since the 1980’s when I started with MIDI. Keep on asking :smiley:

Thanks for this reply
I only hope that Steinberg will add thiw feature in the next updates.
But I noticed that with the “sync” function, the recording is waiting a signal. But I found so little help with that. Any chance to do it with this function?

Aloha guys, Just to chime in.

Soo true.

I used to be able to send a ‘MIDI Start Event’ from my controller (guitar synth)
just by hitting my top most note (C#) and Cubase would start.
If the track was armed it would start recording. If not it would just start playback (great for live work).

since the 1980’s when I started with MIDI.

Yes! That was many years ago (before Cubase added audio).

Just tried it again after reading this post and so far nada.

Good Luck!
{‘-’}

I may be wrong but I believe Cubase in that case is waiting for a ‘MIDI Time Code’ signal. (MTC).
I say this because many years ago I would sync my hardware sequencer
(Roland MC50) to Cubase using MTC.

{‘-’}

Hi, Jimmy.

What you want to do is possible, the key is configuring the generic remote. Because Vic helped me out with a similar issue, I’m linking to his instructions in that post.

In my case, I’m using a combination of MTC sync and the generic remote to automatically arm the track and start record when a midi note is sent, which of course you can simplify if needed to best suit your own scenario.

Hope this helps!

Hi Chris