Trouble with VSTs

Cubase LE AI Elements 7
Windows 7 (networked with roaming profiles)

First of all, I’m a Network Manager (for a school) and I’m not musical. I deal with installing software and getting it working, not necessarily using it so I am not going to know all the ins and outs of Cubase and the terminology, so please excuse me and bear with me.

We have some students who are using Cubase for the first time, when they Add Instrument Track, Halion Sonic SE (this is one they will mostly use but I understand it’s the same with the others that are installed) and then go to add an instrument (sound?), the list is empty.

This doesn’t seem to follow any patterns. Some classes we’ve had everyone but a few working fine, some we’ve had everyone but a few not working. Sometimes it’s everyone on a particular computer that doesn’t work, sometimes it’s only those on a particular computer that do work (different computers). Sometimes someone who doesn’t work can log on a different computer and it works, sometimes not.

We can’t see any patterns and it’s driving me round the bend. I have no idea where to look – I’ve tried resetting profiles and copying AppData from a working user but it still doesn’t work. I’ve even compared registry exports of the user.dat although I honestly don’t know where to look that might affect this.

Any help or pointers would be very much appreciated.

When Cubase was installed, did you choose the option to “Install for All Users” If not, please reinstall and select that option. If they open by right-clicking and choosing “Run as Administrator” does it work properly? Also, try choosing the Reset filters option (arrow pointing left) to have the presets rescan.

If that still fails, here are instructions to reset Cubase to it’s factory defaults: