Two Input Sources?

Hello Fellers,

I’m using Cubase 10 Pro combined with a Behringer X32 Compact and I’m just getting started recording real drums, which worked nicely so far, with all I/O channels nicely organized. I am preparing a project template to record songs with drums, guitars, bass, vocals.

All instruments are going through the X32 (XLR and 6,3mm jack), except vocals, because I have a USB condenser microphone and the X32 has no input for that. Ergo the mic has to go directly into the PC.

Question: Can I tell Cubase to also take the USB mic as an input in addition to the bus with the 11 other drum inputs? If so, how?

From that question you can probably tell that I’m quite the beginner. It’s just that if I go to Studio-Settings and change the input from X32 to the USB microphone, I have to reassign all I/Os of the 11 drum mics when I switch back – which is not convenient at all.

In an ideal use case I want to be able to
1) press record, play drums
2) put the marker back to start
3) press record, do my vocals

without re-routing any I/Os or busses. If needed I may buy a mic with XLR but I want to avoid the additional cost.

I hope that I could explain my problem well enough.

Thank you all in advance. :wink: