Unable to access ProcessData.processContext (validator fails at "setlocal...")

I am new to plugin development (and C++), but I have some various experience with programming and audio. So this is my first VST plugin: cyclical amplitude modulation. It started as a square wave tremolo, I added some parameters (rate, smoothness, intensity), and that went well enough (yay, results!).

Now I’m trying to extend a tempo sync feature, so I implemented getProcessContextRequirements, added some “kNeeds[…]” flags, and started trying to use the processContext member of ProcessData, but it seems I can’t even reference that member without triggering this failure.

The validator fails at “Check Audio Bus Arrangement”, with the cryptic “setlocal…” error. I pared it down to just a null check for processContext (in my process function):

if (!data.processContext) {
  	throw std::invalid_argument("missing processContext");
  }

At this point, I had hit a sort of wall; that seems like the simplest reasonable troubleshooting I can perform within my code.

I’ve solved other problems, that caused similar validator failures, by modifying/recompiling the validator to add debug output. So I added some output and it looks like it fails, just after this line (asynchronously BTW; subsequent debug output gets cut off while printing):

public.sdk\source\vst\testsuite\bus\checkaudiobusarrangement.cpp:60:

int32 numInputs = vstPlug->getBusCount (kAudio, kInput);

Does anyone know why the validator would balk at a mere reference to processContext in my process method? The plugin seems to work fine without that null check…

For reference, here’s the output from validator:

1>[Check Audio Bus Arrangement]
1>Info: ===Check Audio Bus Arrangement ====================================
1>Info: got num inp
1>C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\2022\Community\MSBuild\Microsoft\VC\v170\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(157,5): error MSB3073: The command "setlocal

UPDATE:
I tried bypassing that test: