Update from Cubase 10 to 10.5 failed

Hi,

I am new to Cubase. I bought Cubase 10 pro and installed it without any issues at all. Recently there been a update to 10.5 coming so I decided to update. I downloaded the update file (1.6GB) and run the update. Everything is now a mess. I can open the original installation version 10 but I get error messages. It seems 10.5 installed separately all though I just downloaded the update file. When I try to run 10.5 I get a request for the license. I have the e-licenser dongle inserted. I even tried the same serial number that I got when I purchased Cubase Pro v10 but it didn’t work.

I have attached some screen prints. They show the different messages I get. This is the first time I try to update Cubase and all though I have several other DAW’s, vst plugins, etc, I never faced any situation like this. I hope someone can point me in the correct direction so I can clear up this mess and get Cubase working again.

I also bought Halion and Padshop Pro. With version 10.0 everything worked just fine.

Thanks!
Image 3.jpg
Image 2.jpg
Image 1.jpg

I have a similar experience. I get image3.jpg as well. There’s no activation code at MySteinberg. My old activation code does not work.
This post: Steinberg Forums
says you have to have activated “since October 16, 2019”.
I noticed that it was trying to launch 10.0.40, not 10.5. I also notice that you are coming from 10.0.20, so similar condition.

:blush: Oops. I guess I thought it was 10.0.50, some kind of free upgrade. My bad. BTW, that upgrade also exists. I was confused. :confused:

Now I also get image2.jpg. I think the only thing to do is uninstall 10.5. Or to buy it.
If I uninstall, I still get errors (image2.jpg).
So, what about buying it?

===== Before getting into that adventure,
===== my bottom line opinion is that you can ignore the errors that come up, and still run 10.0.2 (or 10.0.50) because
===== + padshop 2 doesn’t exist in the Cubase 10 world anyway,