Update from Devs on Intel P/E core scheduling/utilization?

Also curious, because, E-Cores can be overclocked fairly high - will they be properly utilized?

Would be great to get an update from dev.

Thanks

2 Likes

Distribution of work is done by the scheduler of the operating system and, in case of the 12k and 13k CPUs, the thread director. This part is built into the processor itself.

Utilization of P and E cores is therefore done by Windows and Intel. See here

How 13th Gen Intel® Core™ Processors Work.

Not sure what you want the Cubase devs to say but it all works as advertised:

I’m a dev, but not of Cubase. So far as I can tell the hardware and software are now doing what they should be doing and Cubase 12 is also doing what it should.

@JuergenP @robw

Performance issues on Intel® Core™ 12th gen (or newer) hybrid-architecture CPUs – Steinberg Support

Solution

We have started investigating this topic a while ago and aim to improve the situation over time.
As this issue is not limited to our applications, it is very likely that we will see further optimizations on the operating system level (especially the Thread Director) as well.

I think you’re speaking ideally, but realistically, it has always required software developers, hardware developers and the OS developers making modifications - sometimes in cooperation with each other, sometimes not. Sometimes it requires software developers to “get creative” and find their own solutions, or “hacks”.

In regards to Steinbergs PA page there, I would sooner maybe try to overclock my E-cores instead of turning them off.

No, just reality and knowledge on how operating systems are designed. It is a simple and well known fact that scheduling is done by the operating system. This is the Place where multitasking happens.

Microsoft is clearly working together with Intel, that is known for decades. I strongly doubt that Steinberg has any kind of impact on the way Microsoft develops the internals of Windows.