Upgrade From cubase 10 to 12

Good afternoon
I am a home studio producer who loves to play around with Cubase in my spare time. I am currently running Cubase 10 and was looking to upgrade to Cubase 12 and was wondering if anyone on this forum has previously done this switch, and could please advise if this is worth while doing, what would I benefit from ?
Also, what would I need to purchase and what would be the cheapest way of completing this upgrade?
I would really appreciate your advice and thanks in advance .
David Gibson

Whether it is worth is something only you can decide, as no one here knows your requirements. Best way to find out is to test the demo version.

Cheapest way to purchase the update from Steinberg is when they are having a sale, like right now you can get the upgrades for 40% off (I’ve bought them for 50% off at times, but no one here can tell you for sure when or if that will happen again.

The upgrade form C9.5 to C11 was a great purchase and big step forward. C11 was much better, offered new functionality, was rock stable. Then I decided to upgrade to C12 - and I regret it every day. C12 is not stable, has worse performance (same project works far more better on C11), crashes aaaaa lot, and it is no more trustful partner. So it occurs that although I have C12 - more offten I work on C11. My point is that knowing what I know now - I would never upgrade to C12. Pity that you cannot upgrade to C11 - that I would recommend 100%.

Im happy with Cubase 10, never had any problems and im confident with alot of the features, but just fancied a bit of a swap with something new. I now think with your comments about Cubase 12 crashing I will think about upgrading a little longer and do a bit more homework before purchasing. Thank you

What exactly do you want to know?

From what I’ve tested, for me C12 had a better performance than C11, but direct comparison is difficult, as the performance meter changed.