Upgrading from SX2 to Cubase 5

Don’t ask why, but I’ve been using Cubase SX2 for around ten years now without upgrading… Just one of those people I guess. I even bought a copy of Cubase 5 at one point and never installed it… until now.

I really want to finally bring my working practice closer to the contemporary realm, but I’m a bit scared about what will happen to my 1000s of old .cpr files. Will they still open fine in Cubase 5 or will I experience weirdness?

Please can someone advise, as I’m really worried I’m going to lose everything.

Cheers.

Adam

Aloha A, and welcome to the board ‘E’ Komo Mai’.

First, you did not say in yer post what hardware computer gear you are using.

So questions:
1-Is the computer that now successfully runs SX2, powerful enough even run C5?

2-If so, can the two apps exist side by side on the same computer?

I ask this because I have C5/C6/C7 and C8 all installed and running on the same computer
with no probs.

Not sure about the ‘open’ part but when it comes to ‘weirdness’ IMHO yes.

But all is not lost, even if they do not open in C5.

There is alway what I call the ‘take the long way home’ approach
and here is how it works:

Export each SX2 project’s audio and MIDI files and then
import those files back into C5.

Upside to this approach:
1-You do not lose any performance work. (yea)

Downside to this approach:
1-This can be a long and tedious process and
2-you have to watch for alignment issues and
3-you will lose all eq and fx data.
(so I find it best to write down that info before the export process
and then try to recreate that info as best you can once imported into C5).

Good Luck!
{‘-’}