UR22mkII Input 2 Hi-Z switch

Hi there,

Disclaimer: I’m a noob with the UR22mkII, I just received it today.

I’m not sure to understand what are the cases when I need to activate the Hi-Z switch on Input #2:

• Should I activate it when I directly plug an active bass? (I think it’s a clear yes)

• Should I activate it when I directly plug a passive bass? (I think yes, but not 100% sure)

• Should I activate it when I plug a bass through an effect pedal? (not sure at all)

• Should I activate it when I plug a bass through a multi-effects pedal? (not sure at all)

• Should I activate it when I plug a bass through a DI box (or DI output of an amp)? (seems from the documentation, I should not)

• Should I activate it if I direclty pug my bass with a symetric jack? (seems from the documentation, I should not)

At the end of the day, what if I never activate that switch? Is there a danger for the audio interface?
I suppose I can just adjust the Input #2 GAIN and I’m fine.
Quite frankly, I don’t really understand the value of that switch…

Thanks in advance for your advice and answers.

Best regards, Erix.

Good evening,
All I know about it is that hi-z is dedicated for bass & guitar only, no matter if it’s setup on active or passive gears. I can also confirm that hi-z input are available on some multi-fx especially designed for guitars.

The truth is that it’s barely noticeable and the ending result is pretty much the same as if it was not hi-z. I have been testing it myself and so should you do it. Just make sure you disable it when you connect another type of instrument or use balanced cables.

Hope it helps

Z stands for impedance, and if you connect a sourse with high impedance you should use the Hi-Z.
So here is how i would treat the cases you outlined above.

1 No, an active bass has a built in buffer, so it’s low-Z.
2 Yes, a passive bass is Hi-Z.