UR824 Routing Questions

Okay, so I’ve been doing screencasts of my DAW projects for a few years now. My workaround to get both my microphone and DAW audio (via ASIO drivers) was to take the direct outputs from my monitors and plug them into the two analogue inputs on another interface and then mix from there. This is a such a terrible way to work, especially in the digital age.

Anyway, I would like to route my main outs to a sort of “send” path to one of the ADAT stereo pairs. Is this possible with dspMix? I can’t seem to find too much on how it works, the manual isn’t really helpful in my situation. Likewise, why does my Operating System (Windows 7) only “see” the Line outs 1/2 and not 3/4, 5/6, and 7/8? Again, nothing in the manuals about setting this up on your computer. I just hooked my UR824 up today and have been working with it. For the most part, everything is straight forward but like most interfaces, it is hard to figure out how to setup what I want.

Best,

Chris

Bump. Any thoughts or recommendations would be awesome.

I have workaround that I’m using right now. It’s not as complicated as it sounds, but here is my description:

I use the UR824 while recording mixing and other tutorials in Cubase. I’m recording with OBS screen capture software. I also downloaded a plugin for it called “DirectShow Audio Source Plugin” which allows me to select a separate audio source (this is important).

Because the main DAW mix is coming out of “Mix 1” in the UR828 software, I have set one of my headphones to output from this “Mix 1”. This means that whatever I’m hearing in Cubase and all other desktop audio is going through this headphone jack.

I’m then plugging in a 1/4" cable into said headphone jack, then using a 1/4" to 1/8" adapter so I can plug this signal into the line input on the computer’s built-in soundcard.