Using Dorico for electronic music

Hello all,

I’ve recently been interested in Dorico due to its Play mode. I am an electronic music producer and I compose in Ableton, however I have always missed writing real scores for my music as I find it is easier to write counterpoint and see the relationships between notes, etc. Of course, it really is not very practical to write electronic music first in a notation software with completely different sounds and then bring it over into Ableton - the sounds (or lack thereof) will often kill inspiration.

Seeing how Dorico has more DAW functionality than Finale and Sibelius, I am thinking that perhaps I can finally integrate traditional notation back into my workflow. While I do not expect to be able to create an entirely finished product in Dorico, I am wondering whether the Play mode will have sufficient functionality that I could load different VST synths such as Serum, Massive, etc and assign individual instances to different players. This way I could design sounds and then instantly begin scoring for them, and after I have gotten the composition itself down, along with perhaps some basic automation (cutoff, attack, release, etc), I can then export and bring it into Ableton to finalize it.

The only roadblock I would see with this is that to me it seems the Play mode allows you to load VSTs only once and then assign them to different MIDI channels. From my understanding, this wouldn’t work with Serum as you need separate instances for each different sound.

Any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks!