Using samples from included Instruments in custom Programs

Hey all, I am new to HALion and wondering whether samples included in instruments, for instance the Turkish Tambur preset from World Instruments, can be accessed when creating user Programs. When I go to the Sample tab, the samples for the tambur are located at vstsound://. When I click on Load/Replace Sample, I get directed to my Windows folders and cannot find these samples.

The reason I ask is because HALion includes a lot of awesome samples, but they are not easily accessible via Instruments (for World Instruments the samples are in the Program Layer so cannot be as a preset).

Another question I have is: why does the HALion Sonic Factory Content Instrument not have a Macro page in HALion 6? In HALion Sonic I am able to change the instrument/sound in the Edit Layer page, but not in HALion 6.

You can make new instrument presets that use locked layers. You could also package such presets in new VSTSound Libraries and they will ‘reference’ the original content. If you intend to share them, the target system also has to have the required original libraries containing the layers installed and the corresponding elisencer key for the original content as well.

Quite a few locked layers have been saved independently and can be browsed with the H6 and Sonic instrument browser (see the icon to filter and show only layers), but you can also borrow layers from complete instrument presets. I.E. Saving a layer (or copy and pasting) from a World Instruments preset, something from a Raven Piano preset, then mixing the two layers in a fresh new instrument preset of your own. Again, if you wish to ‘share’ the presets, your end users would require both libraries being installed, and proper Sonic or HALion eLisencer keys.