Using Sonarworks Reference 4 in WaveLab Elements 11

Hi all

I’m a Cubase veteran but have only just started using Wavelab (Elements 11). So far so good, but I can’t work out how to use Sonarworks Reference 4 (room compensation) in a control room setup up like in Cubase. Is there a plug-in/effects slot for monitoring only (rather than going through to the render output)?

It’s the playback section (at the bottom of the master fader).

The only downside to this is that you cannot have different plug-in for headset / main monitor etc. so you’ll have to change the preset in SW if you need that.

I think the Playback section is only available in Wavelab Pro, comparing Elements Manual and Pro Manual.

Ahh. Good point. I missed the reference to Elements in the OP.

Ah right, thanks for clarifying - I’ll stick with Elements for now and will just remove Reference 4 when I’m ready to render.

Does Elements have a master section? If so, can you set up a render preset that bypasses that master section like you can in Pro?

If the answers to both are yes, that’s going to be less (human) error-prone than remembering to bypass it when rendering.

1 Like

Good idea. If you keep all your plugin work inside the Audio Montage (as I prefer to do) and don’t use the Master Section for any actual plugin processing, you could in theory put Sonarworks in the Master Section and then use the Rendering Options/Preset that always bypasses the Master Section on Rendering.

1 Like

The other good option, IMHO, is to put something after wavelab in your signal path that hosts sonarworks/etc.

That’s what I actually do. But, I also want to be able to switch between speakers and phones, process them differently, and be able to do the same for my media player, web browser, etc… It more complex to set up but simpler to use if you handle the audio “config” for monitoring outside of WL.