Vern Cantrell - "Run For Your Life!"

My first single. Enjoy. :slight_smile:

http://soundcloud.com/verncantrell/run-for-your-life-full-track

Track is also available for full high quality download for an optional $0.50 on Bandcamp. Do please consider a contribution!
http://vc2music.bandcamp.com/track/run-for-your-life

Hi xphen0m,

I thought this was nicely put together–the sounds work well together, and the drums are particularly well done. The music itself is not usually my style, but I did enjoy it from a production standpoint. I’d have to leave it to others who are more attuned to the genre to comment further.

As with SLD I’m not expert with this genre but it sounds like the real deal and on a par with material I’ve heard from others in this genre though I was expecting to hear a vocal or some lead melody instrument? But as I say I’m no expert! The riffage is certainly good though. :slight_smile:

Pretty awesome if you ask me – tight, cool tones, and perfectly executed. Will any of the other cuts have vocals?

Yeah…sounds good but it’s crying out for vocals IMHO :slight_smile:

Thank you for the kind words, guys!

I mainly work on instrumentals, I’m not a singer in the least bit. I’m a single dude doing some bedroom productions.

Well, you did good! :smiley:

Sounds pretty good to me! Great production.

Cheers,
Wim

Vern,
I would be proud to put out something like this. I too am a bedroom producer and everything else it takes to try and capture a “sound” recording. Problem is I am not as far along as you are in many areas… good job!

Some things to consider:

• Song runs over 5 mins, check out most pro recordings and they run 3-5 mins. I would be tempted to whack the 1st minute or so off the front end.
  • Some of the drum parts sound mechanical. In spots like a rapid fire machine gun. I am not sure they could even be done by a drummer. Forgive me if they are real drums, but in spots they sound manufactured.