Virtual Drumline Percussion Maps

Hello,

I am kind of new to the percussion maps in Dorico and I have a couple questions that maybe someone could help me with. I am using Virtual Drumline to write some marching percussion parts. I added Kontak 5 (16 out) in the play menu under VST instruments. That loaded Kontak and Virtual drumline. I selected Battery Auto (LR) from the multi drop down list and once that was done I was getting virtual drumline percussion sounds, however I don’t use a midi keyboard to type in my notes. I usually do everything with a mouse and the keyboard.

In Sibelius I was able to type in the percussion parts and then go and change the notesheads to create other sounds such as rim shots and cymbal hits, etc. I had a chart that told me what sound each notehead would produce and the number of the note head. Does Dorico have away to print a chart to show me what each sound each notehead would produce (like in sibelius)?

Am I doing something wrong and should I go another route with using Virtual Drumline with Dorico?

I hope I explained everything correctly. I added and example of the Sibelius Percussion Map.

Thanks
Nick

If you select on a note, you can cycle through the percussion playing techniques (shift + alt+ (up/down arrow)). If it is setup as a technique, a rim shot, stick click, etc. should be cycled through. If not, you will have to tweak the percussion map some.

As far as printing a chart that shows everything. At the moment, I have not found such a thing.

I hope this helps some.

Robby

Robby,

I am still having some issues setting up my Virtual Drumline in Dorico. I cycle through the notes like you suggested and it seems right, but the sounds don’t match up. I have a hi hat, but Dut sounds are coming out. When I input in the snare line I get cymbal sounds on input, but brush sounds on play back?

This is what I did:

I loaded up Dorico 2 and the song I am working on.