VST Audio Output Not Working

Hi,

I’m a noob and have spent hours trying to get audio to output but have had no luck. Here’s what I have and what I have checked/tried:

Windows 8.1 64bit
Cubase Elements 7.04
WaveLab Elements 8.x

Created a new project: Production → Metal Production (my first hello world project)
This has a drum track preconfigured
I click Transport Play and the track plays but no audio.

I went to Devices–>Device Setup…
Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver is selected with one output port defined which is visible and enabled
(on a side note I know Cubase is ‘attaching’ to my sound card because it takes exclusive use of it (I can’t play test sounds))
In the project itself under VST Connection Outputs I have a single BUS defined and the device port selected to use the one port defined.

After scouring the message boards I cannot think of anything else to try. Please help. I’m really getting frustrated. :frowning:

Thanks in advance,
Scott

Oh and on a side note, I’m thinking of buying a UR22 or 44. They come with AI. Would I need to install this if I Have Cubase and WaveLab Elements installed already? It seems not based on what I’ve read but want to be certain.

Hi Scott,
The ASIO driver needs to be the same as your sound card. Generic probably wont work with Cubase.
The built in soundcard is not sufficient.
Buy an external usb soundcard like Focusrite or the UR22 or 44 will do.
Mike001

Try the free ASIO4all driver.

While onboard audio is far from ideal it can sometimes work OK with these drivers.

And no you would not need to install Cubase AI to use the UR interfaces with your already installed software.

Grim and Mike,

Thanks for the quick replies. Ok so use the audio interface as input for instruments/midi and, for lack of a better term loop the audio back from Cubase to the interface.

My little hobby is getting expensive. :slight_smile: Wifey is going to shoot me. At least I’ll die happy in my humble recording studio.

thanks again,
Scott