VST Connect with Komplete Audio 6

I can’t figure out how to configure VST Connect SE. The manual is terrible. I’ve been using Cubase for over 15 years, just this week upgrading to the latest and greatest.
Cubase version: Cubase 8 Pro
Audio Device: Komplete Audio 6
Input Bus: Stereo In, Komplete Audio 6, Input 3L & Input 4R
Output Bus: Stereo Out, Komplete Audio 6, Main Output L & Main Output R

Setting up VST Connect SE should be simple, but it is a nightmare for me.

Selecting Project\VST Connect\Check And Repair Configuration tells me the Configuration is wrong and then proceeds to create

• An Input bus “VST Connect”, not connected. I select Komplete Audio 6 and the Device Port changes to Input 1 L & Input 2 R
  • A Studio bus “Cue (VST Connect)”, not connected. I select Komplete Audio 6 and the Device Port changes to Output 3 L and 4R

Selecting Project\VST Connect\SE\Create VST Connect creates a Performer Rec track with the input set to VST Connect and the Output set to Stereo Out. Then up pops “VST Connect: Ins1 - VST Connect SE” with “no Signal” and “Not Connected”. Looks like I should enter a name and click Network Login. Shows a number to pass to VST Performer on an iPad. Enter it on the iPad with the result "Studio with Key … is not logged in!

What’s wrong and what’s next?

That is correct. Nothing is connected to the input bus because the external Performer signal is connected internally.

Don’t do this. It will only confuse you. This Input Channel has the signal sent by the Performer connected here.

This is correct, too. Like with the input, the output of the cue channel is just to feeed the VST Connect Cue plugin inserted here. This will send whatever enters the Control Room VST Connect Cue Channel to the Performer.

Don’t do this, it will only confuse you. This Cuemix Channel is connected to the Performers’ Studio channel via the VST Connect Cue plugin. You don’t want to hear it.