VST Connections - Outputs & Group/FX - how to?

Hey guys,

I am a complete Newbie to VST. I have been working with whatever sequencer is feeding sounds via analog and converting to digital for a long, long time. However, I have seen the light and I have fallen in love with VSTs.

I am running 10.9.4 Mac Mini, 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 and Cubase 7.0.5

Overall picture of what I am trying to do, is that, I would like to have a different output for each virtual instrument and a different group for each audio track to receive those sounds.

Let’s say that I have an instrument track for the snare and another for the high hat.

I would like to make a separate Output called snare and another one called high_hat, followed by something similar for the Group - snare_grp & hh_grp

While the first output & group that I make works fine, the second one does not, which leads me to have to record each audio track separately, instead of being able to route sounds where I can record all of the tracks at the same time.

Also, I have to use snare & snare_grp for all the other instruments.

BTW, under the Outputs tab the Audio Device is set to “Not Connected” in both Outputs and under the Group/FX tab the Output Routing is set to “No Bus” for both Groups.

Thanks in advance

OK, I figured it out.

I am not using the Group/FX at all.

I use the snr_out & hh_out for the instrument track’s out, then I use the snr_out & hh_out for the audio track’s in, followed by Stereo out for the audio track’s out.

Hope that helps someone :slight_smile:

I am getting a lot of crackle sounds when using more than just two tracks.

I have seen you-tubes where composers use up to sixteen tracks and they have an i5. Of course, those where older versions than my 7.0.2.

Is this something that 7.5 addresses? or is this a lack of CPU, memory, etc…