VST plugin (Opus) does not listen to MIDI signal

Hi!
Grateful for any help. I am new to cubase, and have tried for days to make my MIDI usb-kontroller (Komplete A-series) to work in cubase. I have tried googleing but everything I have tried so far does not produce any results. I am trying to get my Opus vst plugin to listen to signals from the midi-keyboard, but I cant make it work. Hitting the keyboard will produce a jumping blue bar in cubase, but Opus does not register any input. I have noticed in the studio setup that the MIDI remote controller is set to “N”. I cant change that as far as I can tell. Is that the reason? I have atteched 1 screenshots. Thank you!

Hello there,

I am tired and am about to tuck in so I am going to only pass some quick thoughts onto the next person that might read this and will try to help you:

1. Kontroller is defined as MIDI Remote device, possibly usage blocked by remote script
  2. Audio output is not set up correctly or not all

Sorry, man, you deserve a little bit of a longer explanation what that all means and what to do about it. I am hoping for the next user to help you.

Thanks! I dont quite understand, but I am grateful for any information. I Will do my best to google myself but I am of course very grateful for any extra information in this thread.

When you say Opus does not register any input do you mean that other VSTs work, or is this the case with every virtual instrument?

Do you get audio out of Cubase at all, e.g. playing audio files?

I have only tried opus so far. I will check as soon as I get home if I can play a normal audio file, but still I think as far as I can tell that the main problem is that opus isnt och even registrating a key press in the virtual keyboard in the vst UI.

Sorry for the poor grammar, Im writing on a mobile without english keyboard😌

Seems like you’ve set is up as a MIDI Remote Controller, so if it’s not correctly configured it can block all MIDI messages from going to VST instruments.