VSTi continues to play all notes played via MIDI, but not Keyboard

Cubase Pro 12

I’m new to Cubase, and am seeing something that I don’t understand, and I don’t know if it is an issue with the plugin, the MIDI I imported, or a setting I can’t find. I’m hoping someone might have some insight.

I created a MIDI part for a string instrument in Cakewalk (latest version) using one of their built-in instruments (SI-String Section). I wanted to use it in a Cubase project using the same Cakewalk instrument, so I exported the MIDI from cakewalk (tried both Type 0 and 1) and imported them into Cubase, and it loaded OK and looks the same as it did in CW.

I added an instrument track in Cubase for the SI-String Section instrument and it came up. I connected the MIDI track’s output to it and let it play. When it started, it sounded like a growing chord that continued to play even after I stopped the play head. The only way to end it was to delete the instrument and re-add it to the instrument track.