Wavelab 7 Audio Montage CD burning

OK… I’m sorry if this sounds like a rant.
I’ve been using Wavelab since day one. I love it. I’ve pushed it & sold it to many studios, without taking profit (as a legal distributor of Steinberg products before going to Yamaha)
Then 6 came out, which gave me CD burning headaches to no end. Steinberg Canada couldn’t figure it out, still can’t. Philippe couldn’t figure it out. Now I know I’m in trouble!
I bought 7.
Ouf…
Now I wasn’t expecting a complete reconfiguration of Wavelab. I’m sorry, but my brain just cannot grasp all the new windows, the hidden menus and so on. I can’t stand it. I’ve endured it for over a year now, but I usually defer to 6 until it’s time to burn
My CD burning problems were limited to WL6. (Which I had on two different machines, one on XP the other 7) Until today… I’m trying to burn a master CD for duplication with WL7, as I’ve been doing for over 12 years. I need it to be CD extra. I’ve done this before, 10 times per year. Today, I burned 3 CDs with the optional CD extra button activated. Yet it finalizes them every time. Boot, re-boot, reset… name it. NOTHING WORKS. I redid my audio montage on WL6… but as usual, when I press the burn button, WL6 freezes. Only this time, it’s every time. So I’m stuck trying to burn a master CD that needs to be sent off tomorrow, but I cannot burn it on either WL6 or WL7. I don’t have time for this…
Has anyone encountered this before?
Does anyone know of another CD burning soft that’s viable & worth learning?
ANy thoughts would be appreciated

Many thanks
Davy

My CD/DVD burner is a Plextor, and the CD-extra function worked like a charm 'til now.
I’ve installed 7.1 hoping it would fix the problem but it hasn’t. Booted down, tried with WL6 again but as usual, it froze.

Recap:
WL6 doesn’t burn CDs, it freezes everytime, almost always has no matter what computer or windows version.