Wavelab 9 causing KClip Pro 2 to lock up.

Before you say, tell Kazrog support, here’s what’s happening with the KClip plugin:

It works fine in Pro Tools on AAX.

In Wavelab 9.0.15 and with the latest .25, if I have a blank master section, I can load KClip just fine. Save it as a template, reload it. No problems.

If I load a template I’ve saved and simply try to add KClip to the list of already-loaded plugins, it causes Wavelab to hang with KClip never loading and I have to manually kill WL to make it stop.

If I load the same template as above with the other plugins, and then click the “Reset Master Section” button to clear everything and then try and load KClip as the only plugin in the chain, it again causes Wavelab to hang.

Now, if I load a blank template and manually add all of the same plugins as the template above, KClip loads just fine.

So… by process of elimination, it appears that the saved templates I load and use are causing some kind of conflict with KClip. But seemingly not due to any of those other specific plugins themselves.

I’m pretty sure this is one that Phillip will need to take a look at but I had to post it and see if anyone has any ideas.

I did in fact contact Kazrog tech support and they say the plugin should work just fine as evidenced by the fact that I can load it and use it in Wavelab when it’s used as part of a new template.

Thoughts?

• Dave Fore
  • Windows 7/64, always updated, running near flawless
  • Wavelab 9.0.15 and also .25
  • UAD Apollo 16 FW
    KClip 2.01 (latest version available)

FWIW, when I first tried KClip Pro 2 in WaveLab on OS X, the new wavescope didn’t work.

The Kazrog developer told me this:

I don’t even bother testing in Wavelab anymore because it is so unreliable with VSTs. I can’t think of any reason why it shouldn’t work.