Weird clicking sound

Hey all,

This isn’t a Cubase problem per se [that problem was resolved by updating my drivers] but I would appreciate any help. I don’t know where else to turn… :confused:

First of all, I’m a total newbie, so I hope I’m using the right terms. I’m going to try to be as specific as possible with this question.

I purchased the M-Audio M Track 8 for use in a home studio. I downloaded the drivers twice because Cubase didn’t recognize the device the first time. Now it’s connected, but I have another problem. When I plug my headphones into the interface [in either of the two marked headphone out jacks in the front] I hear a strange sound. The closest words I could use to describe it would be a very rapid clicking. I can also hear the instrument I’m playing, but never without the clicking.

So far, I have tried moving the whole unit into another room and lifting the ground [in case it was a power conditioning issue], testing with different headphones, and headphone cables. I have done all of these individually and in combination, and nothing has helped.

The only other strange occurrence I noticed is that the indicator light for the fourth input/channel on the M Track 8 blinks quickly when nothing is plugged in. I tried plugging something in to make it go away, but the sound persisted. I thought maybe the light was blinking in time with the clicking sound I hear in the headphones, but it’s too fast to tell and it might be wishful thinking.

Thanks in advance to anyone who might be able to tell me what’s going on. My apologies for posting to a Cubase forum, but M Audio’s forum hasn’t helped so far.

~Nik

Hi, I do NOT think that you have any power conditioning issue.

Maybe there is a mismatch of sample rates! One source of this can be Windows Sound, which normaly is set to 48kHz sample rate. Try to disable Windows sounds or Change the sample rate (all in the “Sound” Setting of your Computer).