What libraries to get (for beginners)

So, I’m just getting into this. I’ve played music my entire life, but I’m just getting into the DAWS thing. I’m really wanting to make trailer type music, and also to build music around my piano songs (similar to Ludovico). However, I don’t have 5k to drop on all of these libraries. Does anyone have a good idea of where I should start? I’d ideally like to drop no more then 2k, and that’s MAX. I was thinking about starting with Albion, because they seem to have a great starting library for making epic cinematic trailers, and incorporate strings and all that jazz without having to drop 800 dollars on each library.

However, are there any other options? I will be getting a new computer pretty soon and I want to be ready to purchase everything I need as soon as I get it. Also, should I get the $99 cubase? Or should I just purchase the pro one? Or if I purchase the $99 one and begin to grow can I get the pro one for a discount? In addition, I don’t really know what the differences are between pro,artist, and elements…

Hi BeautifulNoise,

this is a vast chapter… :slight_smile:
If Cubase Elements will be enough for you or if Artist or Pro will be required depends very much on what your expectations are and also on the level you are. I have Pro and I could not do without it since I’m using features only available in Pro - but I’m a Cubase user for 25 years now.
For the feature differences, go to the Steinberg homepage. There is a comparison chart.